The New Toy (Read: Computer)

We got a new family computer.  It was time for our old Dell Dimension 4400 to retire after 7 years of reliable service.  It just couldn’t hack it anymore, but it’s still a good computer.

The new machine is also a Dell (I’m still a PC guy, even though I use a Mac at work).  We got a new Inspiron 530.  Here’s the stats if you’re interested:

  • Pentium Dual Core E5200 (2.50 GHz, 800MHz FSB, 2MB cache)
  • 4GB RAM
  • 320 GB hard drive
  • Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit (I debated this, but it’s really worth it)
  • DVD +/- RW drive

I declined the pre-installed productivity software and anti-virus tools, opting instead to install OpenOffice and AVG Free.   The only 64-bit hiccup we’ve encountered is that the 64-bit version of Internet Explorer that came installed on the coputer is not compatible with FlashPlayer.  No problem: we just installed Firefox (32-bit) and all is well.

Everything has worked great, and I actually enjoy using Vista (maybe because it reminds me of my Mac at work).

Leave a comment